Key Characteristics of Endocrine Disrupting Chemicals

The original working group met at UC Berkeley on March 7-8, 2018, and was hosted by Martyn Smith (UC Berkeley) and Lauren Zeise (OEHHA, CalEPA). The group was co-chaired* by Michele La Merrill (UC Davis) and Thomas Zoeller (U. Mass.). The group examined the literature and developed 12 key characteristics (KCs) of endocrine disrupting chemicals and subsequently published a paper in 2020, La Merrill et al., 2020, which included additional invited experts**.

Last NameFirst NameInstitutionEmailStakeholder
BrownePatienceOECDPatience.BROWNE@oecd.orgIntergovernmental Agency
Gore**AndreaUni. Texas, Austinandrea.gore@austin.utexas.eduResearcher
GuytonKathrynIARC, FranceGuytonK@iarc.frIntergovernmental Agency

KortenkampAndreasBrunel Uni., U.K.

La Merrill*MicheleUC Davismlamerrill@ucdavis.eduResearcher
Patisaul**HeatherN. Carolina State Univ.hbpatisa@ncsu.eduResearcher
RieswijkLindaUC Berkeley (currently Maastricht Uni.)linda.rieswijk@maastrichtuniversity.nlResearcher
SmithMartynUC Berkeleymartynts@berkeley.eduResearcher
SoneHidekoNIES, Japanhsone@nies.go.jpGovernment
VandenbergLauraU. Massachusettslvandenberg@schoolph.umass.eduResearcher
ZeiseLaurenOEHHA, California
Zoeller*ThomasU. Massachusetts


**Experts invited to join group

Abbreviations: CPMC, California Pacific Medical Center; EPA, Environmental Protection Agency; NIES, National Institute for Environmental Studies; OECD, Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development; OEHHA, Office of Health Hazard Assessment