Key Characteristics of Carcinogens

 

The working group met at UC Berkeley on August 21-22, 2018 and on February 7-8, 2019. The meetings were hosted by Martyn Smith (UC Berkeley) and Lauren Zeise (OEHHA, CalEPA). The group discussed use of the key characteristics in hazard identification, harmonization of the key characteristics with the hallmarks of cancer, and how to design experiments to test a mixture of several chemicals with the potential to produce cancer at low doses. So far one paper has resulted from the group’s work: Smith et al., 2020 but a second on mixtures will be published.

Last NameFirst NameInstitutionEmailStakeholder 
BorrelAlexandreNTPalexandre.borrel@nih.govGovernment 
CardenasAndresUC Berkeleyandres.cardenas@berkeley.eduResearcher 
ChiuWeihsuehTexas A&M UniversityWChiu@cvm.tamu.eduResearcher 
FelsherDeanStanford Uni.dfelsher@stanford.eduResearcher 
FieldenMarkAmgenmfielden@amgen.comPharma 
GibbonsCatherineU.S. EPAGibbons.Catherine@epa.govGovernment 
GoodsonWilliamCPMCwhg3md@att.netResearcher 
GuytonKathrynIARC, FranceGuytonK@iarc.frIntergovernmental Agency 
HouckKeithU.S. EPAhouck.keith@epa.govGovernment 
KleinstreuerNicoleNTPnicole.kleinstreuer@nih.govGovernment 
La MerrillMicheleUC Davismlamerrill@ucdavis.eduResearcher 
LebrecHerveAmgenhlebrec@amgen.comPharma 
LoweLeroyGetting to Know Cancer, Canadahlebrec@amgen.comResearcher 
McHaleClionaUC Berkeleycmchale@berkeley.eduResearcher 
MinocherhomjiSheroyAmgensminoche@amgen.comPharma 
RiderCynthiaNTPcynthia.rider@nih.govGovernment 
Rieswijk&LindaUC Berkeleylinda.rieswijk@maastrichtuniversity.nlResearcher 
SandyMarthaOEHHA, California EPAMartha.Sandy@oehha.ca.govGovernment
SmithMartynUC Berkeleymartynts@berkeley.eduResearcher 
SoneHidekoNIES, Japanhsone@nies.go.jpGovernment 
WangAmyNTPhuishan.wang@nih.govGovernment 
WebsterThomasBoston Universitytwebster@bu.eduResearcher 
ZeiseLaurenOEHHA, California EPALauren.Zeise@oehha.ca.govGovernment 
ZhangLuopingUC Berkeleyluoping@berkeley.eduResearcher 

&Currently at Maastricht University, The Netherlands

Abbreviations: CPMC, California Pacific Medical Center; EPA, Environmental Protection Agency; NIES, National Institute for Environmental Studies; NTP, National Toxicology Program; OEHHA, Office of Health Hazard Assessment

Arrow-up